CHPC 2018

Team South Africa has taken second prize in the prestigious International Student Cluster Competition held at the International Supercomputing Conference in Frankfurt, Germany. The results were announced on 21 June 2017, following three-days days of immense hard work by twelve international teams.

The Centre for High Performance Computing (CHPC) trains Computer Science and Engineering students from across South African universities in its annual winter school held every July and selects some for the national Student Cluster Competition that takes place during the CHPC’s National Conference every December. Winners of the national competition are entered into the annual International Student Cluster Competition that takes place in Germany. South Africa is always represented by a new team of six undergraduate students who travel to Germany to build a small cluster of their own design on the International Supercomputing Conference exhibition floor and race to demonstrate the greatest performance across a series of benchmarks and applications. Students receive a unique opportunity to learn, experience and demonstrate how high performance computing influences our world and day-to-day learning.

The international competition is organised by the international High Performance Computing Advisory Council and this year’s competing teams were:

  • Centre for High Performance Computing (South Africa)
  • Nanyang Technological University (Singapore)
  • Edinburgh Parallel Computing Centre, University of Edinburgh(United Kingdom)
  • University of Science and Technology & National University of Defense Tech (China)
  • Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen–Nürnberg(Germany)
  • University of Hamburg(Germany)
  • National Energy Research Scientific Computing Centre (United States of America)
  • Universitat Politècnica De Catalunya Barcelona Tech(Spain)
  • Purdue University & Northeastern University (Unites States of America)
  • The Boston Green Team (Boston University, Harvard University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology University of Massachusetts – Boston (United States)
  • Beihang University(China)
  • Tsinghua University(China)


Tsinghua University (China) took the overall prize based on their Linpack score and their performance in the ‘mystery challenge’.

Team South Africa was represented by Mishka Mohamed, Kyle Jordaan, Tyrone de Ruiters, Liam Doult all from University of Western Cape as well as Phillip Goosen and Lydia de Lange from Stellenbosch University. The team members were honourned guests of Minister Naledi Pandor at during the Department of Science and Technology’s Budget Vote in parliament this year where she wished them well for the international competition.

South Africahas won the international competition three-times before and taken second position once. Asked on what the magic formula is, David Macleod, CHPC Engineer and team’s advisor simply says: “We have good sponsors and we come prepared”.

This year’s team was sponsored by DellEMC for hardware equipment of R2 million and Mellanox was the sponsor for network equipment of R200,000.

CHPC student team took second honours at the 4th HPCAC-ISC Student Cluster Competition, featured at ISC (International Supercomputing Conference) on 15 July 2015, where more than 2,600 attendees and 160 exhibitors from around the globe met in Frankfurt, Germany.  

The competition featured small teams that competed to demonstrate the incredible capabilities of state-of- the-art high-performance cluster hardware and software. In a real-time challenge, 11 teams of six undergraduate and/or high school students built small clusters of their own design on the ISC exhibit floor and raced to demonstrate the greatest performance across a series of benchmarks and applications. The students received a unique opportunity to learn, experience and demonstrate how high-performance computing influence our world and day-to-day learning. Held in collaboration of the HPC Advisory Council and ISC, the Student Cluster Competition is designed to introduce the next generation of students to the high performance computing world and community.

CHPC were overall winners of both the 2013 and 2014 competitions.


Results were as follows:

1st place:Tsinghua University, China

2nd place:Centre for High Performance Computing (CHPC)

3rd place:University of Science and Technology of China

Highest LINPACK performance:Jamia Millia Islamia University, India

Fan favourite:Purdue University & Universidad EAFIT

CHPC Conference in the News

CHPC 2017 Student Cluster Competition winners on Morning Live, SABC: Watch here

South African students to showcase skills in Germany: Read here

Students to represent SA at supercomputing competition in Germany next year: Mail and Guardian download

Students to compete in Germany: New Age download



CHPC On Youtube

CHPC Student Cluster Competition 2017


SANReN Hacking Challenge

Latest News


    A team of South African students has claimed third place at an international high performance computer competition in Frankfurt, Germany.

    Read More